Governor Info for Parents

At Norwood we have 15 governors, who may be staff, parents or drawn from the Local Authority and community.

The Governing body has three main roles: strategy, critical friend and accountability.

Governors do this by working with the Head Teacher to:

  • Set the aims and objectives for the school
  • Set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • Be a source of challenge and support to the Head Teacher

The Head Teacher is responsible for the day-to-day, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

The Full Governing Body meets a minimum of 4 times over the year, but generally near the end of every term. The Chair of Governors is Lesley Lee. The Clerk to the Governors is Jo Todhunter.

All governors sit on committees, which meet at least once a term. At Norwood these committees are: Standards & Curriculum, Resources and Finance.

Standards & Curriculum Committee discusses areas such as Pupil Achievement and Progress, Assessment from Early Years through to KS2 SATs , how and why we teach subjects and how we report information to parents. The Chair of Curriculum Committee is Chris Stewart.

Resources Committee   The committee regularly inspect our grounds and buildings and makes recommendations on improving the school environment to ensure the wellbeing and safety of all our children, staff and visitors and are involved with determining the staffing structure in the school to ensure all of our children are given access to appropriate levels of care as well as monitoring and evaluating the performance and pay of all the staff.  The Chair of Resources Committee is Amanda Hanlon.

Finance Committee approves and monitors the budget for the year to ensure the school spends it on the correct areas to drive school improvement and ensures that all Financial Regulations are implemented.  The Chair of Finance Committee is Irene Silcox.

Parent governors are recruited every four years through an election.  If you are interested in joining the governing body, please contact Mrs Todhunter in the school office for further information.

If you would like to let the governors know about the things you think we do well here, or about how we could do things better, please put it in a letter and hand it in at the school office. 

Address your letter for the attention of the Chair of Governors - Mrs Lesley Lee or email to

  • Jo Todhunter - Clerk to the Governors
  • Lesley Lee - Chair of Governors
  • Kim Taylor - Staff Governor
  • Aileen McCarthy - Co-opted Governor
  • Lee Dumbell - Head Teacher 
  • Cllr Mhairi Doyle - Local Authority Governor
  • Chris Stewart - Co-opted Governor
  • Kim Miller - Parent Governor
  • Amanda Hanlon - Parent Governor
  • Ruth Start - Parent Governor
  • Jenny Hollings - Parent Governor
  • Artis Lismanis - Co-opted Governor
  • James McAlister - Parent Governor
  • Irene Silcox - Co-opted Governor

Instrument of Governance Norwood Primary School


Governor Code of Conduct Norwood Primary School


Name, Role, Area of Responsibility  Term of Office Appointed By Link Roles Committees Declaration of Business Interest Relationship to School
Lesley Lee       Chair of Governors            Co-opted Governor 01/09/2021 - 31/08/2025 Governing Body Maths, English and Science Standards and Curriculum, Resources, Finance, Pay, Heads Performance, Complaints None declared None
Chris Stewart      Vice Chair of Governors            Co-opted      Governor 01/12/2021 - 30/11/2025 Governing Body SEND Standards and Curriculum,  Complaints None declared None
Irene Silcox           Co-opted Governor 07/12/2018 - 06/12/2022 Governing Body Finance Resources, Finance, Pay None declared None
Aileen McCarthy      Co-opted Governor 28/11/2018 - 17/11/2022 Governing Body   Standards and Curriculum None declared Assistant Head
Artis Lismanis      Co-opted Governor 01/12/2021 - 30/11/2025 Governing Body GDPR and ICT Finance None declared Child in school
Lee Dumbell         None declared Head
Kim Taylor          Staff Governor 17/09/2018- 16/09/2022 Staff   Resources  None declared Member of Staff
Mhairi Doyle          LA Governor 06/11/2018 - 05/11/2022 Local Authority Safeguarding and Staff Wellbeing  Standards and Curriculum, Pay, Heads Performance, Complaints None declared None
Kim Miller        Parent Governor 22/06/2022 - 21/06/2026 Parents Early Years and Pupil Health and Wellbeing Standards and Curriculum,  Heads Performance None declared Children in school
James McAlister Parent Governor 30/03/2022 - 29/03/2026 Parents Premises/Health and Safety Resources None declared Child in school
Amanda Hanlon Parent Governor 18/09/2019 - 17/09/2023 Parents Pupil Premium Resources None declared Child in school
Jenny Hollings Parent Governor 30/03/2022 - 29/03/2026 Parents The Curriculum Standards and Curriculum None declared Child in school
Ruth Start        Parent Governor 18/09/2019 - 17/09/2023 Parents Attendance Standards and Curriculum, Complaints None declared Children in school
Trisha Bennet Associate Governor   No voting rights 17/09/2021- 16/09/2022       None declared Deputy Head
Jo Todhunter     Clerk to Governors         None declared School Business Manager
Cassie Gerrie November 2021          
Gill Roberts September 2022          
Tracey Cartledge May 2022          
Clare Stansfield January 2022          
Rebecca Greenwood November 2021          


Governor Comittee Dates 2022-2023

Autumn Term    
Full Governors AGM 6pm Wednesday 21st September
Resources 6pm Wednesday 12th October
Standards and Curriculum 6pm Wednesday 9th November
Finance 9.30am Tuesday 22nd November
Full Governors   6pm Wednesday 7th December
Spring Term    
Full Governors 6pm Wednesday 29th March
Summer Term    
Full Governors 6pm Wednesday 12th July


Governor Attendance at Meetings September 2021 - July 2022

Name Full Governor 

Resource  Committee           

Standards and Curriuculim Committee Finance Committee
Irene Silcox 3/3 3/3 n/a 3/3
Aileen McCarthy 3/3 n/a 3/3 n/a
Artis Lismanis 2/2 2/2 2/2 2/3
Chris Stewart 3/3 n/a 3/3 n/a
Lesley Lee 3/3 3/3 3/3 3/3
Lee Dumbell 3/3 3/3 3/3 3/3
Kim Taylor 2/3 n/a 2/3 n/a
Mhairi Doyle 1/3 n/a 3/3 n/a
Kim Miller 2/2 1/1 1/1 n/a
James McAlister 2/2 n/a n/a n/a
Amanda Hanlon 3/3 3/3 n/a n/a
Jenny Hollings 1/2 n/a n/a n/a
Ruth Start 3/3 3/3 n/a n/a
Trisha Bennet 3/3 n/a 3/3 n/a
















Our Values and EthosASPIRE, RESPECT and ENJOY

Contact us at Norwood Primary School

Head Teacher: Lee Dumbell
Norwood Crescent
SEND Contact: Rachael Brookfield - SENDCo
Chair of Governors: Mrs Lesley Lee